12 Candidates Running for Eau Claire City Council Seats


A dozen candidates have filed nomination papers for an Eau Claire City Council seat, and two are seeking the council president job.

There are five at-large seats on the council with 12 candidates and the February 19 Primary will narrow the list to ten.

Acting council president, Andrew Werthmann, and councilman Terry Weld are both looking to fill the presidents seat. That election will take place on April 2.

The Eau Claire County Clerks office says Weld has given up his councilman seat in order to run for president.

“Typically we don’t’ have the president election for a district or at large seat, this time because of the seat being vacated mid-term they’re both on the ballot. I’m not sure that we’ve ever had this before,” said Carrie Riepl, Eau Claire City Clerk.

Previously at-large council members David Strobel and Michael Xiong have announced they will not seek re-election. Current councilwomen Kate Beaton and Catherine Emmanuell will be seeking re-election among others.

The final vote for all seats will take place on April 2.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar