New La Crosse police chief will be internal employee

Local News

According to the La Crosse Police and Fire Commission, the next La Crosse police chief will be a current member of the department.

All three of the finalists to succeed departed chief Ron Tischer are currently captains with the department.

The finalists are: Jason Melby, Daniel Kloss and Shawn Kudron.

A fourth candidate, Brian Bassett who is deputy police chief in Southfield, MI was also a finalist, but has withdrawn his candidacy.

Interviews will be held on Monday and Tuesday, Sept. 23 and 24.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar