Two La Crosse mayoral candidates advance to April election

Local News

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WLAX/WEUX) – Voters in La Crosse are one step closer to deciding who will be the city’s next mayor. A crowded field of 10 candidates was on the ballot to replace Mayor Tim Kabat.

The top two vote getters, Vicki Markussen and Mitch Reynolds were confirmed.

Markussen said, “Now we’re able to move from differentiating ourselves from other candidates to really looking at what the next four years look like, and how we get that game plan rolling.”

Reynolds said, “Our message in moving forward doesn’t really change in how we’re planning on addressing the biggest issues in the city of La Crosse. It’s still going to be going out and talking with the people in the city of La Crosse and finding out what their needs are and how they’d like the city to serve them.”

Markussen and Reynolds say they’re grateful for all who voted.  Both candidates will continue campaigning leading up to the final decision on April 6.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar