2019 Packers unveiled at Lambeau tonight

FOX Football Insider
Footballer Insider Main Graphic 2018_1523656464125.gif.jpg

A week’s worth of training camp practices are in the books under new head coach Matt LaFleur, and the 2019 edition of the Green Bay Packers will practice in Lambeau Field tonight as part of the 19th annual Family Night festivities.

LaFleur put his team through a light, non-padded practice session on Thursday, but tonight’s session will be full-pads in a game-like atmosphere in front of an expected capacity crowd and state-wide television viewing audience.  The team will be introduced on the field at approximately 7:30 p.m.

Family Night is a part of the “Back to Football” campaign, presented by Bellin Health, that includes Packers training camp and preseason contests at Lambeau Field.  Family Night tickets are priced at $10 and activities are family focused, culminating with a fireworks and laser show after the practice and “Jersey off our backs” give-a-way conclude.

A healthy Aaron Rodgers and his teammates are eager for a fresh start after a disappointing 6-9-1 record in 2018, in which Green Bay failed to make the playoffs for the second consecutive season.

The first seven practices have gone as expected:  the defense is ahead of the offense at this stage as the latter has struggled at times as LaFleur and his coaching staff install the playbook.  The most intriguing and critical aspect is how quickly the 39-year-old head coach and his star 35-year-old quarterback bond and get on the same page with the new system.

“Green Bay has Aaron Rodgers and a new head coach and system,” said Mike Ditka, former Chicago head coach.  “Their defense has to prove they have improved and can get the job done.  It will be a very interesting training camp for Green Bay as the players adjust to the new system and coaching staff.  The NFC North, with the Bears, Packers and Vikings, will be a very tough division this season.”

The schedule for Green Bay’s 2019 training camp includes practices at Ray Nitschke Field and Packers Family Night at Lambeau Field.  Two highlights are joint practices next week with the Houston Texans and Wisconsin native J.J. Watt and a preseason game against the Raiders in Canada.  Training camp open practices are listed below:

  • Thursday, July 25 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Friday, July 26 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 27 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Sunday, July 28 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, July 30 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Wednesday, July 31 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 1 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Friday, August 2 – 7:30 p.m. – Packers Family Night
  • Sunday, August 4 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Monday, August 5 – 10:15 a.m. – Joint practice with Texans
  • Tuesday, August 6 – 10:15 a.m. – Joint practice with Texans
  • Thursday, August 8 – Preseason Game – Packers host Texans 7 p.m. at Lambeau
  • Saturday, August 10 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 11 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Tuesday, August 13 – 10:15 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 15 – Preseason Game – Packers at Ravens 6:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 18 – 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, August 19 – 1:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 20 – Closed to Public
  • Thursday, August 22 – Preseason Game – Packers at Raiders 7 p.m. (at IG Field in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada)
  • Sunday, August 25 – Closed to Public
  • Monday, August 26 – Closed to Public
  • Tuesday, August 27 – Closed to Public
  • Thursday, August 29 – Preseason Game – Packers host Chiefs 7 p.m. at Lambeau

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar