This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(Stats Perform) – As expected, championship week delivered in FCS college football.

A number of conference titles were clinched over the final full weekend of the regular season, including head-to-head matchups to determine the champs in the Big South (Kennesaw State beat Monmouth 49-17) and Southern Conference (ETSU edged Mercer 38-35).

Conference Champions

AQ7: Sam Houston (10-0, 6-0)

Big Sky: Sacramento State (9-2, 8-0)

Big South: Kennesaw State (10-1, 7-0)

CAA: Villanova (9-2, 7-1) and James Madison (10-1, 7-1) are co-champs

Ivy: Dartmouth (9-1, 6-1) and Princeton (9-1, 6-1) are co-champs

MEAC: South Carolina State (6-5, 5-0)

Missouri Valley: North Dakota State (10-1, 7-1)

Northeast: Sacred Heart (8-3, 6-1)

Ohio Valley: UT Martin (9-2, 5-1)

Patriot: Holy Cross (9-2, 6-0)

Pioneer: Davidson (8-2, 7-1) and San Diego (7-4, 7-1) are co-champs

Southern: ETSU (10-1, 7-1)

Southland: UIW (9-2, 7-1)

SWAC: East Division champ Jackson State (10-1, 8-0) or West Division champ Prairie View A&M (7-3, 6-1), TBD


All FCS conferences except the Ivy League participate in a postseason. The 24-team national playoffs are composed of 11 conference champions that have automatic bids and 13 at-large bid selections, with the pairings to be announced on Sunday (12:30 p.m. EST, ESPNU). The MEAC and SWAC champions will meet in the Celebration Bowl on Dec. 18 in Atlanta.

NCAA Playoffs – Automatic Qualifiers

AQ7: Sam Houston

Big Sky: Sacramento State

Big South: Kennesaw State

CAA: Villanova

Missouri Valley: North Dakota State

Northeast: Sacred Heart

Ohio Valley: UT Martin

Patriot: Holy Cross

Pioneer: Davidson

Southern: ETSU

Southland: UIW

Celebration Bowl

MEAC: South Carolina State

SWAC: Jackson State vs. Prairie View A&M or Alcorn State in conference championship game on Dec. 4