Carlson, Hedman and Josi named NHL Norris Trophy finalists


Washington’s John Carlson, Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Nashville’s Roman Josi have been named the finalists for the NHL’s James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the league’s top defenseman.

The finalists were announced Monday, and voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Led by Carlson’s 75 points (15 goals, 60 assists), the three were the NHL’s top point-producers among defensemen. Carlson and Josi, who had 65 points (16 goals, 49 assists), were the only two blueliners to lead their team in points this season.

Hedman, who finished third among defensemen with 55 points (11 goals, 44 assists), is a finalist for the fourth consecutive year — the longest streak since Nicklas Lidstrom’s four-year run from 2006 to ’09. Hedman is the only finalist to have previously won the Norris, doing so in 2018.

The NHL also said Boston center Patrice Bergeron, Philadelphia center Sean Couturier and St. Louis center Ryan O’Reilly are the three finalists for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, honoring the league’s top defensive forward.

Bergeron is a four-time winner, and last won the award in 2017, to tie Montreal’s Bob Gainey for most Selke honors. Bergeron led Bruins forwards in shifts per game and ice time, helping Boston allow a league-low 174 goals.

O’Reilly, who is also a Lady Byng finalist for sportsmanship this year, is in position to become the first player to repeat as Selke winner since Bergeron in 2014 and ’15. O’Reilly led the NHL for the third straight season in face-off wins (880).

Couturier, who finished second in the Selke voting in 2018, led Flyers skaters with a plus-21 rating, and forwards in both overall ice time and shorthanded ice time.

For more AP NHL coverage: and

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar